Tuesday, December 8, 2020

Do we only mourn "nice" people?

     It's the 40th anniversary of John Lennon's murder in front of his home at the Dakota. 40 years since i woke up from a nightmare, headed into my parents bedroom only top hear the radio DJ cut in and announce it. I woke my parents up with the news. 

I've been seeing posts today with people saying, "John Lennon was an asshole. Why are people still mourning him?" 

I have so many thoughts.

First, I'm wondering how a 40 something year old person, the average age of people saying such things, knows John Lennon in order to know that he was an asshole. I'm 46. In the house I grew up with with parents who were massive Beatles fans, John Lennon was a serious hero. So I might be speaking from a slightly biased place and I'll be the first to admit that. But still, my question stands. 

You most likely didn't know him personally know that he was an asshole. Whatever information you've heard or read comes through another person. Another person that may or may not have known him and may be repeating hearsay and some other person's story of an interaction with him.

John Lennon, just like the other three Beatles members were some of the most famous and sought-after people in the world. Let's remember that their fans were so insane about them that they didn't tour after that first visit to the United States. They were basically a studio band! I can imagine when you're that famous you pretty much live the majority of your life under a microscope. And I bet that it's frustrating and exhausting and difficult a lot of the time, even if it's the life you sought out. If he wasn't always on his best behavior, can we blame him? 

John, Paul, Ringo and George were young men when all this started and young men, just like young women and young people make mistakes. They get married too young and they become parents before they're ready. Sometimes their dreams and aspirations get in the way of responsibilities that they have and they choose those dreams and aspirations ahead of familial responsibilities. When people take on responsibilities too young and parenthood too early, and have trauma from their own childhood past, they might not have the skills yet to do the right things. It's not an excuse if he in fact hit Cynthia. Not at all. And I too always felt bad for Julian (my first celebrity sighting and celebrity who said hello to me!). 

John made lots of mistakes with his first family, that's true. But let's remember we all make mistakes. 

From what I've read, in the latter part of his life he seems to have sought to do better. To be better. A better husband, a better father, a better man. There was a chunk of years in there that he didn't work. Instead he stayed home with Sean, the son he had with Yoko. Did you know he was on his way home to be with Sean when he was murdered? Maybe part of that was in recognition of the mistakes he'd made the first time and he wanted to do better. And only Julian can say what his relationship was like with his father towards the end, if John was trying to build a better relationship with him or if he had yet holding the skills to admit any wrongdoing and make up for that.

However...even if he was and remained an asshole, is it possible for those of us, the millions and millions of us who did not know him personally to mourn the artist and musician that he was every December 8th? Is that wrong?

I don't think so. 

If John was a down and dirty bastard, we can acknowledge that and we can also recognize and acknowledge and mourn and honor the artist that he was. I tend to think we was a human being with talents and faults, things to like, things not to like, a work-in-progress. Like all of us. Sadly, his progress was cut short. And please don't forget he was still someone's husband, father, and friend, asshole or not.

Ultimately, for us, he was an artist who influenced the world, pop culture, music, who got up the ass of a war hungry and hateful US govt and more. Because all of that, I feel he deserves recognition today and every time a Beatles song starts to play.

Blessed be, John. We are still imagining....even if you were an asshole at times. ;)





No comments:

Post a Comment